Why is a Raven Like a Writing Desk?

I sit down to write at my new (old) writing desk and I am distracted by the imperfections in the wood. Before handing the man one of only four twenty dollar bills I have between today and the end of the month for gasoline, groceries and, apparently, the purchasing of antiques, he told me that he believed it was poplar or maple.

But what I see is glitter, pink and silver, pixie-slick thumbprints where the smallest hands could reach. Red paint and black and glue residue. A faintly edged circle is crossed by a constellation of pencil compass points, and I wonder at the purposeful destruction, what sort of child would stop there and not pepper the desk top over with holes. The name ‘Jaron’ is scratched twice into the wood. I think I’ll use it.

I put the desk in front of a window. It’s dark now but I wonder tomorrow what I’ll see, what this new space will warrant the page.

6 thoughts on “Why is a Raven Like a Writing Desk?

  1. pennyjars

    Wow, now I understand why you want to refinish it. How terrific to make it your own. A raven is like a writing desk–if you can capture it, you will fly.

    Reply
    1. The Girl Post author

      I’ve been looking for a few months, and usually they’re pretty pricey – and in better shape! But still. There’s something delightful about how simple these old desks are.

      Reply
  2. Pris Killingly

    I love how I can picture it and how it reminds me of the old wood framed bunk beds my brother and I used to have (with glitter and carvings and stickers that were later torn off). I’ve been dying for a desk for months (I’m currently living with family though, 7 of us total, and my room is actually being used half storage so I write from my bed and it’s beginning to murder my back. agh!) Here’s to the beauty of efficient writing spaces!

    Reply
    1. The Girl Post author

      That’s where I’ve been writing from! I feel like a cat trying to find the best patch of sun to nap in. I’m hoping the desk can just be a dedicated and restful writing space.

      My brother and I also had wooden bunk beds! We used to pretend they were a ship, and we’d clamber from bottom to top and down again.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

